The Church’s Feasts and Seasons

The Church’s Feasts and Seasons 2019 – 2020

Year A: The Year of Matthew’s Gospel

We follow a calendar based on a cycle of liturgical seasons including feasts and saints’ days.

We are constantly nourished by the story of Jesus and guided by our ancestors in the faith, living witnesses of God’s unchanging love.


The Church year begins on December 1st, the First Sunday of Advent.

It is a period covering the four Sundays before Christmas during which we prepare to celebrate Christ’s birth, His coming into human history, & His ever constant coming into our lives and world, until finally there is a new heaven and a new earth.

The Christmas Season

Begins Christmas Day Wednesday December 25th and concludes on January 12th 2020.

  • Monday January 1st:  Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God.
  • Sunday January 6th: The Epiphany
  • Sunday January 12th: The Feast of The Baptism of the Lord.

On Monday 13th January we begin Ordinary Time which ends on Shrove Tuesday 25th February 2020


Begins on Ash Wednesday 26th February 2020.

The forty days of Lent are a time of spiritual renewal and preparation for the celebration of Easter.

Over this time of penance we strive to give more depth to our prayer, and grow in compassion through fasting, self-denial and acts of generosity and kindness.


April 5th: Palm or Passion Sunday marks the beginning of Holy Week

The Easter Triduum (3 days) is the heart of our Liturgical Year, from the evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper, until Easter Sunday morning.

  • April 9th: Holy Thursday
  • April 10th: Good Friday
  • April 11th: Easter Vigil
  • April 12th: Easter Sunday

The Easter Season

During the six weeks of the Easter Season (50 days) we celebrate significant Church feasts:

  • May 24th : The Ascension of the Lord
  • May 31st: Pentecost

Ordinary Time

Ordinary Time resumes Week 9 on June 2nd and continues until Feast of Christ the King, which marks the end of the Year A.

Feast days of significance during this time are:

  • June 7th: Trinity Sunday
  • June 14th: Corpus Christi
  • June 19th: The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
  • Aug 6th: The Transfiguration of the Lord
  • Aug 15th: The Feast of the Assumption
  • Sep 1st – Oct 4th: Season of Creation
  • Oct 1st: St Therese of Lisieux
  • Nov 1st: All Saints Day
  • Nov 2nd: All Souls Day
  • Nov 22nd: Christ the King of the Universe

The cycle begins again in Advent 2020, November 29th when we begin Year B – The Year of Mark’s Gospel