The Church’s Feasts and Seasons

The Church’s Feasts and Seasons 2018 - 2019
Year C: The Year of Luke’s Gospel

We follow a calendar based on a cycle of liturgical seasons including feasts and saints’ days.

We are constantly nourished by the story of Jesus and guided by our ancestors in the faith, living witnesses of God’s unchanging love.


The Church year begins on December 2nd, the First Sunday of Advent.

It is a period covering the four Sundays before Christmas during which we prepare to celebrate Christ’s birth, His coming into human history, & His ever constant coming into our lives and world, until finally there is a new heaven and a new earth.

The Christmas Season

Begins Christmas Day Tuesday December 25th and concludes on January 13th 2019.

  • Monday January 1st:  Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God.

  • Sunday January 6th: The Epiphany

  • Monday January 13th: The Feast of The Baptism of the Lord.

On Tuesday 14th January we begin Ordinary Time which ends on Shrove Tuesday 5th March 2019


Begins on Ash Wednesday 6th March 2019.

The forty days of Lent are a time of spiritual renewal and preparation for the celebration of Easter. 

Over this time of penance we strive to give more depth to our prayer, and grow in compassion through fasting, self-denial and acts of generosity and kindness.


April 14th: Palm or Passion Sunday marks the beginning of Holy Week

The Easter Triduum (3 days) is the heart of our Liturgical Year, from the evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper, until Easter Sunday morning.

  • April 18th: Holy Thursday

  • April 19th: Good Friday

  • April 20th: Easter Vigil

  • April 21st: Easter Sunday

The Easter Season

During the six weeks of the Easter Season (50 days) we celebrate significant Church feasts:

  • June 2nd: The Ascension of the Lord

  • June 9th: Pentecost

Ordinary Time

Ordinary Time resumes Week 10 on June 10th and continues until Feast of Christ the King, which marks the end of the Year B.

Feast days of significance during this time are:

  • June 16th: Trinity Sunday

  • June 23rd: Corpus Christi

  • June 28th Friday: The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus

  • Aug 6th: The Transfiguration of the Lord

  • Aug 15th: The Feast of the Assumption

  • Oct 1st: St Therese of Lisieux

  • Nov 1st: All Saints Day

  • Nov 2nd: All Souls Day  

  • Nov 25th: Christ the King of the Universe

The cycle begins again in Advent 2019, December 1st when we begin Year A – The Year of Matthew’s Gospel


Click to download pdf: The Church's Feasts and Seasons 2018-2019


Click to download pdf: The Church's Feasts and Seasons 2017-2018


NhanLe 02